Tuesday, August 19, 2014

"The Hunger Games" by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games trilogy was one of the first series that brought dystopian societies back into the conversation since The Giver. The series centers around Katniss, a teenager who volunteers herself in the place of her sister during the annual Hunger Games. However, Katniss proves to be a strong competitor and soon, she has most of the districts standing behind her. Although the series has the usual rebellion against the government and a love triangle, the main theme of the books is family. Katniss would do anything for her sister and this bond is what drives her to do right. The character of Katniss also grows to have confidence in herself throughout the series. For these reasons, the series has proven to be a good influence on young adult readers. Overall, the writing is easy for all levels of readers to understand and the descriptions throughout the series easily allow readers to immerse themselves in this world.

The Hunger Games
Katniss volunteers herself in the place of her sister. The other chosen tribute from her district is Peeta, a boy that she knows and has history with. During the Games, she must partner with him in order to go home.

Highlights: The cave scene

Lowlights: Goodbye to Rue

Catching Fire

In the Quarter Quell, Katniss and Peeta are forced to go back to the arena. This time, they face other victors. Katniss wants to make sure Peeta wins but everyone else has another agenda.

Highlights: The beach scene

Lowlights: Peeta's selflessness


District 12 is gone but District 13 provides a new home for the survivors. Katniss must become the leader of the rebellion. Peeta returns but he is changed. War erupts and Katniss will do what she can to fight.

Highlights: Katniss as a leader

Lowlights: The bombing

The Giver by Lois Lowry- the first dystopian novel
Divergent by Veronica Roth- dystopian setting, strong heroine

Illustrations provided by Goodreads

No comments:

Post a Comment